I am not a blogger.

10 Apr

Before I begin, note that I consider myself a “140” sort of girl. Although I read blogs–see my blog roll–and have had internship experience with WordPress, I do not consider myself a blogger. I’ll admit, jumping from Twitter’s 140-characters and brief Facebook statuses all the way to professional blogging sounds like jumping in a cold swimming pool to me.

However, as a senior public relations major and communications minor, I know the growing importance of blogging. So throw me in, baby!

Yes, there is a streak of blue in my hair.

I’m Cristina–formerly Christina. I legally changed my name to reflect my Spanish heritage. I love public relations and social media. I particularly appreciate old school press releases; my friends joke that my husband-to-be would be smart to propose to me in one. I am also a grammar freak. I’m the girl that volunteers to edit her friends’ essays–no Starbucks-payment necessary. (Feel free to point out any typos of mine!) My passion and long-term career goal lie in the music industry. Although I have been caught in the recording studio myself, I prefer behind the scenes work. I aspire to be an artist publicist.

We’ll see how this blog evolves… But I plan on writing in a casual tone, about professional (or at least semi-professional) “stuff.”

Jump in with me! Cristina.

7 Responses to “I am not a blogger.”

  1. sarawaltemire April 11, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    Congrats on losing the “r.” I remember you telling me about that one time, but never why. Very cool story!

    I love that you describe yourself as a “140” sort of girl. I’m definitely more of a Twitter girl too! I look forward to reading more of your blog. From what I’ve heard… It sounds like you’re doing some fun stuff already. Good luck!

  2. shawnah2011 April 11, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    Welcome to blogging! It can get addicting, I jumped on-board a year ago and have been hooked ever since. 🙂

  3. mjccreative April 11, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    I like the fact that you want to apply your PR skills to something aside from the classic advertising/PR field. It would be awesome to get into the music industry. I, myself, think I’d enjoy working in film.

  4. pdxsx April 11, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    Good first post, Cristina! Don’t forget you need two (2) per week.

    ~J

  5. evan1983 April 11, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Welcome to the blogosphere Christina — I mean Cristina! As you have probably already noticed, there is nothing to it. It’s just like posting on facebook but people like to say more insightful stuff because blogs will often come up in Google searches. Have fun and see you in class.

  6. cristinadunning April 18, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Thank you all for the blogging support–only a week into it and I’m already starting to get the hang of it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Suggestions? | upandcomingcristinadunning - May 1, 2011

    […] seven posts in and I’m already running out of blog topics. As mentioned in my initial post, I hope to use this blog somewhat professionally, but also in a fun manner showing my social side. […]

Leave a Reply

