6 Responses to “To protect, or not to protect, that is the question.”

  1. sarawaltemire April 24, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Great post, Cristina! I think it’s definitely worthwhile to have a public Twitter account in PR. It shows your social media skills, and with 1,333 followers (good for you, by the way) you should be showing it off! As long as you’re not tweeting about inappropriate things, I don’t think it should be a problem. I think it’s especially important to have it be public if you are tweeting about things related to the industry like your blog. Let me know what you decide to do!

  2. mrblisterdundee April 24, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    If you’re publishing something professionally, why not keep it public? You shouldn’t be trying to embarrass yourself at work, anyway. You probably shouldn’t post about trade secrets or real estate transactions – some of the dealings commonly kept secret. It might be worth it to make your Facebook private, if you’re especially opinionated, but you can keep separate blogs and Twitter feeds.

  3. jennacerruti April 24, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Cristina, I’ve thought about this too! I follow friends on Twitter, but mostly professionals, so I consider my largest demographic I’m targeting when I tweet. However, I think it’s ok to once in a while tweet about your personal interests – it shows that you’re human! I agree with Sara. You should definitely show off the tweets you produce for over 1,000 followers. That’s incredible.

  4. cristinadunning April 24, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Thank you for the feedback! I would say my Twitter content is 80% fun and 20% professional–if that. I like the idea of keeping it my “personal” and public account, but balancing in more professionalism. Thinking through it, 60/40 would would be ideal. Thanks again!

  5. jedavis13 April 24, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    I understand why having your thoughts, comments and potentially weekend blunders posted to Twitter might be daunting, but like the others posted before me, if you are using Twitter as a tool for conversation professionally then there is no need for keeping it private. Also from many hiring managers I’ve heard from they say that seeing the personal stuff the your profile shows that you aren’t some drone, personality-lacking square. Great post!

  6. pdxsx April 26, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Well done, Cristina. Since nothing is ever erased in the digital age, it’s good to be aware and sensitive to what is being pushed into the public space.

    ~J

Leave a Reply

