Suggestions?

1 May

Only seven posts in and I’m already running out of blog topics. As mentioned in my initial post, I hope to use this blog somewhat professionally, but also in a fun manner showing my social side. That said, a notable although unplanned theme across my blog is moderation. This situation is no exception.

Sure, I could blog about the NASDAQ or Osama bin Laden’s death, but would these posts be entertaining? Doubt it. Oppositely, I could post my views on the Royal Wedding or summer 2011 fashion trends, but would these topics further me at all professionally? Unlikely. As the worlds of business and pleasure need a balance, so too does my blog.

I like to think I'm well rounded...

Although this blog topic in itself might initially seem boring, it’s actually a common one. In fact, communications guru Chris Brogan ranked it number nine in his “100 Blog Topics” list. Among others (that I find balanced and you can likely expect posts on) are:

  • #1 How I Use Facebook
  • #23 My Mother is On Facebook
  • #35 Do Rock Stars Need Social Media Strategies
  • #55 Breaking Down My Favorite Blog.

In the meantime, I also opened my Twitter up for blog post suggestions. One recommendation was to listen to then summarize interviews held on the Northwest Breakout Show. My long-term public relations goal is to be an artist publicist–so although slightly more “fun” than “professional,” I think this could work. Thank you to friend and local artist The Kid Espifor that idea!

So although I have come up with a few new topics, I’ll ask my readers as well… Do YOU have any blog post suggestions for Up and Coming Cristina Dunning?
4 Responses to “Suggestions?”

  1. mrblisterdundee May 2, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    You need to develop a more specific focus for your blog. It could be something like integrating yourself in the company as an intern, how to efficiently be a PR representative, the challenges of dealing with the public when your firm has done something questionable or any other more in-depth topic. You’ve got to make your blog have a purpose.

  2. Jake Neilson May 2, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    second that. The internet is full of garbage and people rambling. I struggle with this too, as a young professional I struggle with blogging my thoughts mainly because I don;t know what kind if strength they have behind them. But like any good brand you need a focus. If you have a reason for this blog top exist. Then you have a topic and you will think of work to go in it.

    Fight the mucky.
    #fightthemucky

  3. cristinadunning May 2, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Must. Find. Focus.

    Thanks guys!

  4. pdxsx May 4, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    There are plenty of topics out there, C! What are you most passionate about?!

    ~J

Leave a Reply

