Ta Kala Diokomen

7 May

As cliché as it may sound, I cannot imagine what my college experience would be like without Kappa Delta. Being in a sorority has taught me more life lessons than any textbook ever could have.

Growing up I had always been a tomboy and got along better with the guys than girls. I definitely never imagined I would go through formal sorority recruitment! My mom and aunts, all Chi Omega legacies, encouraged me to go through the process—to at least give it a chance so I could make my decision based on personal experience instead of stereotypes.

Put nicely, being on that end of recruitment was an unpleasant experience. Hundreds of girls were judging me, and in my mind I had already judged them. I either wanted to be a Chi-O or I did not want to be in a sorority at all. (Of course, the Chi-Os thought I was a desperate wanna-be and after the first day of recruitment cut me.)

Kappa Delta was my second choice.

The women in the house—although not the most attractive on campus—were warm and welcoming, down to earth, silly, good listeners, well-rounded as a bunch and had an adorable house mom with sweet cinnamon breath and who gave me a hug the second time I met her.

By the end of the week of recruitment Kappa Delta became my first choice. And after four years, the women and house became my sisters and home.

I won’t dismiss that being in a sorority can have a negative connotation, however. Binge drinkers. Promiscuous. Immature. Anorexic. Fake.

Nationally and at the University of Oregon, Kappa Delta is not this type of sorority. Kappa Delta has more philanthropies (four) than any other nationally recognized sorority. All Kappa Deltas must be involved in an activity outside of the sorority and school. We each serve five hours of community service per term (and many serve more!). We have a mandatory GPA of 2.7 or higher. And on Friday nights, alcohol-free sisterhood bonding events are common at the house.

Although some do contribute to it, I strongly believe that the general stereotype of sorority women is wrong. Like any club, we are inevitably social, but the exaggerated and yet also oversimplified ideals of sororities is just wrong. I’m not the only one who feels that way, journalists at USA Today College agree.

Kappa Delta introduced me to my best friends. Kappa Delta networked and bonded me to thousands of other strong women nationally. Kappa Delta nurtured me into the woman I am today, like our five pillars of excellence: Confident. Philanthropic. Socially successful. Intelligent. A leader.

Senior year and my last time on the "KD" side of recruitment.

AOT

One Response to “Ta Kala Diokomen”

  1. pdxsx May 10, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Good post, Cristina! Very heartfelt and well written!

    ~J

Leave a Reply

